« back

Union for the Mediterranean

« Back to Glossary Index

The Euro-Mediterranean Partnership (Euromed), launched in 1995, aimed to achieve stability and growth in the Mediterranean, and covered political, economic and social cooperation.

In 2008, a new impetus was given to the Euromed through the multilateral Union for the Mediterranean (UfM). New regional projects were initiated, addressing areas such as economy, environment, energy, and migration.

Along with 28 EU countries, 15 partner countries are members of the UfM: Albania, Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Mauritania, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, Syria, Tunisia and Turkey.

Some of these countries are now candidates or potential candidates for EU accession, while others have bilateral action plans through the European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP). Following the events of the Arab spring in 2011, the ENP was strengthened. The European Neighbourhood Instrument 2014-2020, the financial arm of the ENP, has a budget of €15.4 billion.

Source:  EUR Lex Glossary

« Back to Glossary Index
e-platform european union