« back

General Court

« Back to Glossary Index

The General Court, together with the Court of Justice and the Civil Service Tribunal, form the Court of Justice of the European Union whose aim is to ensure the uniform interpretation of EU law. Decisions of the General Court can be appealed to the Court of Justice, but only on a point of law. Prior to the coming into force of the Lisbon Treaty on 1 December 2009, it was known as the Court of First Instance.

The Court is responsible for dealing with:

  • cases lodged by natural and legal persons against acts by Union institutions, and bodies;
  • cases lodged by EU countries against certain decisions of the Commission or the Council;
  • cases relating to the Community trade mark;
  • appeals against decisions by the EU Civil Service Tribunal.

The General Court is composed of 28 judges. The judges are appointed for a renewable term of 6 years by common accord of the governments of EU countries.

Source:  EUR Lex Glossary

« Back to Glossary Index
e-platform european union