« back

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organisation)

« Back to Glossary Index

The North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO, or the Atlantic Alliance) was founded by the North Atlantic Treaty, also known as the Treaty of Washington, signed on 4 April 1949, and has its headquarters in Brussels. It currently has 28 members, following successive enlargements:

  • 1949 (12 founding members): Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom & the United States;
  • February 1952: Greece & Turkey;
  • May 1955: West Germany;
  • May 1982: Spain;
  • March 1999: the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland;
  • March 2004: Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia;
  • 1 April 2009: Albania and Croatia.

EU countries’commitments and cooperation under the common security and defence policy are consistent with their commitments under NATO.

Source:  EUR Lex Glossary

« Back to Glossary Index
e-platform european union