« back

European Union agencies

« Back to Glossary Index

European Union (EU) agencies are bodies set up by the EU to carry out specific technical, scientific or administrative tasks. They are divided into 4 groups:

  1. Decentralised agencies carry out technical, scientific or managerial tasks that help the EU institutions make and implement policies. They are set up for an indefinite period and are located across the EU.
  2. Executive agencies help the European Commission manage EU programmes. They are set up for a fixed period and must be based in the same location as the Commission (either Brussels or Luxembourg).
  3. European Atomic Energy Community Treaty (EURATOM) agencies were created to coordinate national nuclear research programmes for peaceful purposes; to provide knowledge, infrastructure and funding for nuclear energy; and to ensure sufficient and secure supplies of nuclear energy.
  4. European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT), an independent EU body which seeks to promote Europe’s ability to develop new technologies, by pooling its best scientific, business and education resources. It is located in Hungary.

Source:  EUR Lex Glossary

« Back to Glossary Index
e-platform european union