« back

European institutions

« Back to Glossary Index

The EU has an institutional framework aimed at promoting and defending its values, objectives and interests, the interests of its citizens and those of its member countries. This framework also contributes to ensuring the coherence, effectiveness and continuity of EU policies and actions.

According to Article 13 of the Treaty on European Union, the institutional framework comprises 7 institutions:

Each institution acts within the limits of its remit, granted in the Treaties in line with the procedures, conditions and purposes laid down therein.

The European Parliament, the Council and the Commission are assisted by the European Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions performing advisory functions.

Source:  EUR Lex Glossary

« Back to Glossary Index
e-platform european union